RMIT University Semester Dates are made available to the general public, prospective students, and current students in order for them to have access to course registration dates, enrollment dates, and deadlines.

University opening dates and public holidays

EventDateOpen/closed*
New Year’s DaySaturday 1 JanuaryClosed
University opens for 2022Thursday 6 JanuaryOpen
Australia DayWednesday 26 JanuaryClosed
Labour DayMonday 14 MarchOpen
Good FridayFriday 15 AprilClosed
Saturday of Easter weekendSaturday 16 AprilClosed
Easter SundaySunday 17 AprilClosed
Easter MondayMonday 18 AprilClosed
Easter TuesdayTuesday 19 AprilClosed
ANZAC DayMonday 25 AprilClosed
Queen’s BirthdayMonday 13 JuneOpen
AFL Grand Final EveTo be confirmedClosed
Melbourne CupTuesday 1 NovemberOpen
University shut downFriday 23 DecemberClosed
Christmas DaySunday 25 DecemberClosed
Boxing DayMonday 26 DecemberClosed
Christmas Day holidayTuesday 27 DecemberClosed
New Year’s DaySunday 1 January 2023Closed
University opens for 2023Wednesday 4 January 2023Open

Trimester 1 2022

DateEvent
Thursday 27 JanuaryTrimester 1 Invoices available on StudentConnect (was originally planned for 24/1/22)
Sunday 6 FebruaryInternational students – last day for commencing international students to withdraw from Trimester 1 and receive a 90% refund
Monday 7 FebruarySTAR timetable opens 10am for preference entry for campus based units
Wednesday 16 FebruarySTAR closes 10am for sorting of preferences
Thursday 17 FebruarySTAR re-opens 10am for timetable viewing and adjustment
Monday 21 February – Friday 25 FebruaryPre-OWeek online sessions for international, pathway and online students and enrolment for Trimester 1
Monday 28 FebruaryUnit sites become available in Cloud Deakin
Monday 28 February – Friday 4 MarchOrientation week  – all students
Monday 7 MarchInternational students – Trimester 1 fees due in full
Monday 7 MarchTrimester 1 teaching period begins
Monday 7 March – Friday 11 MarchWEEK 1
Saturday 12 MarchDomestic students – Trimester 1 fees due
Monday 14 March – Friday 18 MarchWEEK 2
Sunday 20 MarchLast day to add units to Trimester 1 enrolment both Campus and Cloud Campus – subject to availability of places.
Sunday 20 MarchInternational students – last day for continuing students to withdraw from Trimester 1 and receive a 100% refund
To be confirmedCross-institutional studies – last day for Deakin students to apply to undertake cross-institutional studies in Trimester 1
Monday 21 March – Friday 25 MarchWEEK 3
Monday 28 March – Friday 1 AprilWEEK 4
Thursday 31 MarchCensus date
Monday 4 April – Friday 8 AprilWEEK 5
Monday 11 April – Thursday 14 AprilWEEK 6
Friday 15 April – Sunday 24 AprilEaster vacation / Intra-trimester break
Monday 25 April – Friday 29 AprilWEEK 7 (Monday public holiday for Anzac Day)
Tuesday 26 AprilTrimester 1 exam timetable released on StudentConnect
Thursday 28 AprilCommonwealth Assistance Notices for Trimester 1 released on StudentConnect
Monday 2 May – Friday 6 MayWEEK 8
Monday 9 May – Friday 13 MayWEEK 9
Monday 9 MayLast day to withdraw from a Trimester 1 unit with Withdrawn Late (WL) listed on academic record.
Tuesday 10 MayWithdrawn Fail (WN) applies for all units withdrawn from this date.
Monday 16 May – Friday 20 MayWEEK 10
Monday 23 May – Friday 27 MayWEEK 11
Monday 23 MayExam location – last day to request a change in exam location 
Friday 27 MayTrimester 1 teaching period ends
Monday 30 May – Friday 3 JuneTrimester 1 study period
Monday 6 June – Friday 17 JuneTrimester 1 examination period
Monday 20 June – Friday 8 JulyInter trimester break
Friday 24 JuneGraduation applications open for students completing their degree in Trimester 1 for October graduation ceremonies
Thursday 7 JulyTrimester 1 results released on StudentConnect at 10.30am
Wednesday 20 JulySupplementary and special exam timetable released on StudentConnect
Friday 30 JulyCross-institutional studies – last day for Deakin students who have studied at another institution to provide their Trimester 1 results to Deakin
Monday 1 August – Friday 5 AugustSupplementary and special examination period
Friday 12 AugustGraduation applications close and graduation fee due for students completing their degree at end of Trimester 1
To be confirmedOctober graduation ceremonies at Geelong Waterfront Campus

Trimester 2 2022

DateEvent
Tuesday 24 MayTrimester 2 invoices available on StudentConnect
Sunday 12 JuneInternational students – last day for commencing international students to withdraw from Trimester 2 and receive a 90% refund
Monday 20 JuneSTAR timetable opens 10am for preference entry for campus based units
Monday 27 June – Friday 1 JulyPre-OWeek online sessions for international, pathway and online students and enrolment for Trimester 2
Wednesday 29 JuneSTAR closes 10am for sorting of preferences
Thursday 30 JuneSTAR re-opens 10am for timetable viewing and adjustment
Monday 4 JulyUnit sites become available in Cloud Deakin
Monday 4 July – Friday 8 JulyOrientation week – all students
Monday 4 July – Friday 8 JulyInternational students Campus orientation and enrolment for Trimester 2
Monday 11 JulyInternational students – Trimester 2 fees due in full
Monday 11 JulyTrimester 2 teaching period begins
Monday 11 July – Friday 15 JulyWEEK 1
Monday 18 July – Friday 22 JulyWEEK 2
Sunday 24 JulyLast day to add units to Trimester 2 enrolment both Campus and Cloud Campus – subject to availability of places
Sunday 24 JulyInternational students – last day for continuing students to withdraw from Trimester 2 and receive a 100% refund
To be confirmedCross-institutional studies – last day for Deakin students to apply to undertake cross-institutional studies in Trimester 2
Monday 25 July – Friday 29 JulyWEEK 3
Wednesday 27 JulyDomestic students – Trimester 2 fees due
Monday 1 August – Friday 5 AugustWEEK 4
Monday 8 August – Friday 12 AugustWEEK 5
Monday 15 AugustCensus date
Monday 15 August – Sunday 21 AugustIntra-trimester break
Monday 22 August – Friday 26 AugustWEEK 6
Monday 29 AugustExam timetable released on StudentConnect
Monday 29 August – Friday 2 SeptemberWEEK 7
Monday 5 September – Friday 9 SeptemberWEEK 8
Monday 12 SeptemberCommonwealth Assistance Notices for Trimester 2 released on StudentConnect
To be confirmedLast day to withdraw from a Trimester 2 unit with a Withdrawn Late (WL) listed on academic record
Monday 12 September – Friday 16 SeptemberWEEK 9
Tuesday 13 SeptemberWithdrawn Fail (WN) applies for all units withdrawn from this date
Monday 19 September – Friday 23 SeptemberWEEK 10
Monday 26 SeptemberGraduation applications open for international and Medicine students completing their degree in Trimester 2 / Semester 2 for December ceremonies
Monday 26 SeptemberExam location – last day to request a change in exam location
Monday 26 September – Friday 30 SeptemberWEEK 11
Friday 30 SeptemberTrimester 2 teaching period ends
Monday 3 October – Friday 7 OctoberStudy period
Monday 10 October – Friday 21 OctoberExamination period
Monday 24 October – Friday 4 NovemberInter-trimester break
Friday 4 NovemberTrimester 2 results released at 10.30am
Wednesday 9 NovemberGraduation applications open for students completing their degree in Trimester 2 for February ceremonies
Friday 11 NovemberGraduation applications close and graduation fee due for international and medicine/surgery students completing their degree in Trimester 2 / Semester 2 for December graduation ceremonies
Monday 12 DecemberSupplementary and special exam timetable for Trimester 2 released on StudentConnect
To be confirmedDecember graduation ceremonies at Geelong Waterfront (International students and School of Medicine)
Monday 9 January 2023Graduation applications close and graduation fee due for students completing their degree in Trimester 2 for February ceremonies
To be confirmedCross-institutional studies – last day for Deakin students who have studied at another institution to provide their Trimester 2 results to Deakin
Thursday 9 February 2023 – Friday 17 February 2023Supplementary and special exam period for Trimester 2
To be confirmedFebruary graduation ceremonies at Geelong Waterfront and Warrnambool Campus

Trimester 3 2022

DateEvent
Monday 26 SeptemberTrimester 3 invoices available on StudentConnect
Sunday 9 OctoberInternational students – last day for commencing international students to withdraw from Trimester 3 and receive a 90% refund
Monday 24 OctoberSTAR timetable opens 10am for preference entry for campus based units
Monday 24 – Friday 28 OctoberPre-OWeek online sessions for international, pathway and online students and enrolment for Trimester 3
Monday 31 OctoberSTAR closes 10am for sorting of preferences
Monday 31 OctoberUnit sites become available in Cloud Deakin
Monday 31 October – Friday 4 NovemberInternational students Trimester 3 Campus orientation and enrol
Monday 31 October – Friday 4 NovemberOrientation week – all students
Tuesday 1 NovemberSTAR re-opens 10am for timetable viewing and adjustment
Monday 7 NovemberTrimester 3 teaching period begins
Monday 7 November – Friday 11 NovemberWEEK 1
Friday 11 NovemberInternational students – Trimester 3 fees due in full
Monday 14 November – Friday 18 NovemberWEEK 2
Sunday 20 November Last day to add units to Trimester 3 enrolment both Campus and Cloud Campus – subject to availability of places
Sunday 20 NovemberInternational students – last day for continuing students to withdraw from Trimester 3 and receive a 100% refund
To be confirmedCross-institutional studies – last day for Deakin students to apply to undertake cross-institutional studies in Trimester 3
Monday 21 November – Friday 25 NovemberWEEK 3
Sunday 27 NovemberDomestic students – Trimester 3 fees due
Monday 28 November – Friday 2 DecemberWEEK 4
Monday 5 December – Friday 9 DecemberWEEK 5
Monday 12 December – Friday 16 DecemberWEEK 6
Tuesday 13 DecemberTrimester 3 exam timetable released on StudentConnect
Thursday 15 DecemberCensus date
Monday 19 December – Friday 23 DecemberWEEK 7
Monday 26 December – Sunday 8 January 2023Intra-trimester break
Monday 9 January 2022 – Friday 13 January 2022WEEK 8
Thursday 12 January 2023Commonwealth Assistance Notices for Trimester 3 released on StudentConnect
To be confirmedLast day to withdraw from a Trimester 3 unit with Withdrawn Late (WL) listed on academic record
Monday 16 January 2023 – Friday 20 January 2023WEEK 9
To be confirmedWithdrawn Fail (WN) applies for all units withdrawn from this date
Monday 23 January 2023 – Friday 27 January 2023WEEK 10
Thursday 26 January 2023Exam location – last day to request a change in exam location
Monday 30 January 2023 – Friday 3 February 2023WEEK 11
Friday 3 February 2023Trimester 3 teaching period ends
Monday 6 February 2023 – Wednesday 8 February 2023Trimester 3 study period
Thursday 9 February 2023 – Friday 17 February 2023Examination period
Monday 20 February 2023 – Friday 3 March 2023Inter trimester break
To be confirmedCross-institutional studies – last day for Deakin students who have studied at another institution to provide their results to Deakin
Thursday 2 March 2023Trimester 3 results released at 10.30am in StudentConnect
Monday 24 April 2023Supplementary and special examination timetable for Trimester 3 released on StudentConnect
Monday 5 June 2023 – Friday 16 June 2023Supplementary and special examination period for Trimester 3
To be confirmedGraduation ceremonies at Geelong Waterfront Campus

Please be aware that these dates are subject to change; check this page regularly.

Write A Comment